Info about this performance FULL VIDEO Read or write comments

FULL Waves (Milch-Sheriff) Tel Aviv 2018 Merav Eldan

Video Recording from: YouTube     FULL VIDEO          Qries

Information on the Performance
Information about the Recording
  • Published by: Israel Music Institute  
  • Date Published: 2018  
  • Format: Streaming
  • Quality Video: 4 Audio:4
  • Subtitles: nosubs  
  • Video Recording from: YouTube     FULL VIDEO

Quote by the composer:
The subject of the work is waves. There are many waves in our world and some of them entered my creativity in one way or another. Waves are also the waves of the mind, they are waves of changing moods, different frequencies (radio waves for example). I chose a few lines from two poems by Tirza Ether and a poem by Yona Wallach. The songs talk about the sea, but describe states of mind that correspond to different states of the sea. So is the music, which contains within it the different states of waves within the words of the two poets, but also the personality of each and every one of them, known to me from their other poems and from their biography. The work has four parts. In the first, the words of Tirzah Atar appear: “Only the sea prays and whispers.” Rhymes Rhymes praying and whispering. A playing sea, a not sad sea, from a not great distance, with sad sands whispering. The sea breaks waves like a heart to a low and rough shore.’ The main recurring element is the prayer and the whispering of the sea and the waves. In the second part I used Yona Wallach’s words: “The sea also recedes and perhaps has feelings of guilt like me. Suddenly everything is a beach and there are shells and animals to collect and you have to go back and collect.’ This is a much more blunt part, and less pleasant to the ear. It begins with a sort of “angular” fugue, and even the singer sings in big leaps and blunt intervals. The third part is written for strings only and brings other waves that start quite quiet and pleasant and become more and more stormy. It is a stormy soul on its inner waves. The music is lyrical and very melodic and harmonious. The fourth part that concludes the piece returns to the words of Tirza Atar. There is a clear dialogue here between the singer and the instruments of the orchestra, a sort of statement and response. There is a reminder of the beginning of the piece that leads to the ending depicting a large and peaceful space. The waves calmed down and finally became one big sea.

(Visited 41 times, 1 visits today)


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *