Info about this performance FULL VIDEO Read or write comments

FULL Die größte Fuge (Sharp) Bonn 2021 Nicholas Isherwood

Video Recording from: YouTube     FULL VIDEO     
Information on the Performance
Information about the Recording
  • Published by: In Situ Art Society  
  • Date Published: 2021  
  • Format: DVD
  • Quality Video: 4 Audio:4
  • Subtitles: nosubs  
  • Video Recording from: YouTube     FULL VIDEO

In the years from 1815 onwards, the great composer Ludwig van Beethoven was confronted with several problems: physically, emotionally, financially. His deafness is almost complete, he relies on “conversation books” to communicate. He withdraws into deep fugue (dissociative fugue) states, often associated with schizophrenia, and experiences strange visions, both heavenly and terrible in nature. In their clarity, they do not resemble hallucinations, but rather visits from a parallel reality, scenes from an imminent future. Beethoven has revelations of wonderful inventions, shining ships in the air, unheard music, bloodbath beyond belief. From these states he composes, translates these scenes into music that stretches the rules until they are on the verge of destruction.

“The Largest Fugue” is a 70-minute monodrama with the spectacular bass-baritone Nicholas Isherwood, a string quartet and pre-made and live electronics.

“The Largest Fugue” is a composition commissioned by the In Situ Art Society. Funded by the Beethoven Jubiläums GmbH and the Kunststiftung NRW.

Multi-instrumentalist, composer and performer Elliott Sharp has been a key figure in the New York avant-garde and experimental music scene for over 35 years. He has recorded numerous CDs – from blues, jazz and orchestral music to noise, wave, rock and techno. Sharp has led many ensembles over the years, such as the blues-oriented Terraplane or Orchestra Carbon, as well as Tectonics and SysOrk, and improvised with John Zorn, Zeena Parkins, Christian Marclay, Marc Ribot, Joey Baron and many others. He wrote music for the Ensemble Modern, the Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra and the JACK Quartet.

Elliott Sharp participated in numerous festivals such as New Music Stockholm, Donaueschinger Musiktage, Tomorrow Festival in Shenzhen, Au Printemps and many others. In 2010 he wrote the science fiction opera “About Us!” For young people at the Bavarian State Opera, and in autumn 2014 the premiere of his opera “Port Bou” about the death of Walter Benjamin took place in the Issue Project Room, New York .

In October 2014, Elliott Sharp opened the 50th Berlin Jazz Festival with the commissioned composition “Tribute: MLK Berlin ’64”, dedicated to the foreword that Martin Luther King wrote 50 years ago for the program of the first Berlin Jazz Days. The CD “4am Always” by Elliott Sharps Terraplane was awarded the 2014 German Record Critics’ Prize. Violinist Hilary Hahn’s album In 27 Pieces, which won the Grammy Award in 2015, includes Sharp’s composition “Storm of the Eye”.

Elliott Sharp won the Guggenheim Fellowship in 2014 and the 2015 Berlin Prize of the American Academy in Berlin.

(Visited 97 times, 1 visits today)


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *