Info about this performance              Read or write comments

Les Contes d’Hoffmann London 1981 Baltsa Domingo Cotrubas

Popular Singers in this Opera Recording

Get Recording from: AMAZON       '   ' Get this Recording
Information on the Performance
  • Opera: Les Contes d'Hoffmann   
  • Composer: Offenbach Jacques  
  • Libretto: Jules Barbier  
  • Venue & Opera Company: Royal Opera House London  
  • Recorded: 1981
  • Type: Staged Opera Live
  • Singers: Placido Domingo, Ileana Cotrubas, Agnes Baltsa, luciana Serra,Robert Lloyd, Sigmund Nimsgern, Robert Tear, Philip Gelling, Paul Crook, Nicola Ghiuselev, John Rawnsley, Robin Leggate, Claire Powell, Gwynne Howell, Geraint Evans
  • Conductor: George Pretre  
  • Orchestra: Royal Opera Orchestra  
  • Chorus: Royal Opera Chorus  
  • Stage Director: John Schlesinger  
  • Stage Designer: William Dudley  
  • Costume Designer: Maria Björnson  
  • Lightning Designer: David Hersey  
Information about the Recording
  • Published by: NVC Arts  
  • TV Director: Brian Large  
  • Format: DVD
  • Quality Video: 3 Audio:4
  • Get Recording from: AMAZON     Get this Recording

(Visited 60 times, 1 visits today)

Comment (1)

  1. I was actually in the audience when this performance was recorded. It was a very memorable evening. I have heard Domingo many times even as Hoffmann but this was his most superb voice I ever heard. In act two Placido’s voice was unbelievable beautiful – it was out of this world. I guess the recording does not do full justice…