Info about this performance              Read or write comments

Tosca Vienna 2016 Gheorghiu Kaufmann Terfel

Popular Singers in this Opera Recording

Information on the Performance
  • Opera: Tosca  
  • Composer: Puccini Giacomo  
  • Libretto: Luigi Illica, Giuseppe Giacosa  
  • Venue & Opera Company: Wiener Staatsoper, Vienna  
  • Recorded: April 16 2016
  • Type: Staged Opera Live
  • Singers: Angela Gheorghiu, Jonas Kaufmann, Bryn Terfel, Speedo Green, Alfred Sramek
  • Conductor: Jesus Lopez Cobos  
  • Orchestra: Staatsopernorchester Wien  
  • Stage Director: Margaretha Wallmann  
  • Stage Designer: Nicola Benois  
  • Costume Designer:   
Information about the Recording
  • Published by: Wiener Staatsoper Livestreaming  
  • Date Published: 2016  
  • Format: Streaming
  • Quality Video: 4 Audio:4
  • This Recording is NOT AVAILABLE from a proper commercial or public source

(Visited 118 times, 1 visits today)

Comment (1)

  1. This is the hilarious “non abbiamo il soprano” Tosca from Vienna. Jonas Kaufmann sang “e lucevan le stelle” so splendidly that a da capo was demanded. And Jonas sang the aria once more which is very unusual in Vienna as it is against the house rules. After finishing the aria a second time the duet with Tosca Angela Gheorghiu should have begun. But to Jonas and everyone surprise Tosca did not show up on stage. But Jonas started to sing anyway: “non abbiamo il soprano” ( we do not have the soprano). After some pause Angela Gheorghiu finally showed up and the performance continued.
    Was it the bis which angered Angela Gheoghiu or ….? Nobody knows….